Newton South Football Program
Your Subtitle text
History of Newton South Football

The tradition dates back to 1960 when Newton South Hall of Famers, George Winkler and Art Kojoyian, started the football program with Winkler as Head Coach and Kojoyian as line coach. They coached together until 1972 and at that time, Winkler became Athletic Director at South. Kojoyian continued coaching and in 1975, he became head coach and held that position until 1990.  Kojoyian coached at South for 30 years, and at 82 is still coaching today in Virginia. The  players over the years include Tom Lopez, team captain in 1964, Mark Young (Head Track Coach at Yale), Tom Rezutti  (who holds Northeastern University's all-time interception leader and picked 14 in one season), Nick Parnell and Bruce MacLean.  In November 2009, South inducted Winkler, Kojoyian, Young, Parnell and MacLean into its first Hall of Fame Class

Newton South Football's History Page contains team rosters and records through the year, listing of team captains and all-stars, and team award winners. As Newton South continues to build its tradition, this page will maintain those records and accomplishments for years to come. 

Hit Play for Music

Players Above: Derek Russell' 09 No. 12, Rob Poutas '08 No. 58 and Peter Coffin'09 No. 51 against Lincoln Sudbury, Thanksgiving 2007

This page chronicles Newton South players named to all-star teams including Dual County, Tribune, Boston Globe, Newton Tab, Tribune, Eastern Massachusetts, Shriner's Game and Harry Agganis Game as well as recipients of the Richard Shone Award given each year in memory of a South football player.

  • Team Rosters

  • Team Photos         
  • All Star Awards and Recognition*                                                           
    • Boston Globe All Scholastic    Derek Russell '09                                                        
    • Boston Herald All Star                                                                    
    • Eastern Massachusetts                                                                    
    • Dual County League
      • 2012: Patrick Fabrizio, Sam Houston-Read, Brian Spink, and Ethan Meyer
      • 2011: Sam Russell and Andrew Chen
      • 2010: Jerrett Atkinson and Brandon Caldwell
      • 2009: Jerrett Atkinson and Lucas Walker
      • 2008: Derek Russell, Michael Heller, Willie Allen, Lucas Walker and Isaac Freedman
      • 2007: Isaiah Quinones, Miles Bellinger, Derek Russell

                  Newton Tribune

      • 2008: Derek Russell (Player of the Year),  Michael Heller, Isaac Freedman, Willie Allen, Lucas Walker
    • Shirner's All-Star Game
      • Derek Russell 2008
      • Felix Borukhov 2004
      • Brian White 1991
      • Kevin Rollins 1986
      • Thomas Rogers 1985
      • Steve Anglin 1983
      • Dave Hill 1982
      • Michael Antonellis 1982
      • Dave Smith 1980
      • John Forte 1979
    • Harry Agganis All-Star Game

  • Team Awards
    • Most Valuable Player Offense
    • Most Valuable Player Defense
    • Lineman of the Year
    • 110 Percent Award
    • The Richard Shone Award

    Newton South Athletic Hall of Fame 2009
Please note that we are in the process of gathering information on Newton South Football all-stars and will add to this page as information becomes available.  Send information to Thanks
    Isaiah Quinones '08, No.9

    Kwame Francis-John '10 No. 8, Sammy De Los Santos '08 No.45,
    and Miles Bellinger '08 No.2
    Website Builder